Bar&Bench News Network
Adding to the slew of high profile intellectual property matters in cyberspace, the management of 'oktatabyebye.com' have filed an appeal today against Tata Sons Limited with respect to the order of a sole panellist of the WIPO Arbitration and Media Centre. Tata Sons Limited had earlier succeeded in obtaining an order in their favour from the WIPO, to transfer the domain 'oktatabyebye.com'.
Tata Sons Limited, the principal investment holding company of the Tata Group of Companies had filed a complaint against 'oktatabyebye.com', contending that they had been consistently using the trademark 'Tata' for their business activity. Tata averred that the domain 'oktatabyebye.com' includes the word 'Tata', which is identical in part and confusingly similar to their registered trademark and service mark 'Tata' in which the Complainant has a statutory right as well as rights in common law. Tata, represented by the offices of Anand & Anand, sought the transfer of the domain name in their favour.
The management of the portal okaytatabyebye.com also owns the leading Indian travel domain makemytrip.com. 'oktatabyebye.com' is a user based online travel portal sharing information about in India, among a host of other services. It was argued that the domain name was derived from the common parlance "OK Ta Ta Bye Bye" signifying travel, journey and related activities. It was contended that the expression "Ta Ta" has been used not as a standalone mark but as a generic description of bidding farewell since the website offers people an opportunity to record their journey at length to make it memorable.
Chander Lall, name Partner at Lall & Sethi, told Bar & Bench, "The panellist has taken a narrow view of branding on the internet. This is a case of honest adoption and the order is plainly absurd." He added, "I cannot conceive how the panellist thought that the mere use of 'Tata' in the domain name could indicate any bad faith. This action of the Tatas will only dilute their brand."
This is the one of the few cases where corporate India has taken a domain name dispute to the WIPO. Domain disputes tend to be one sided, where a reputable company or an individual is filing for protection against cybersquatters.
Indian companies like Sobha Developers, Mahindra have pursued aggressive strategy to defend their domain names that exist in their trademark.
|
Related Stories
- Delhi High Court admits SC's appeal on RTI ambit
- Bombay High Court admits appeal against Shah Rukh Khan
- Arun Jaitley persuades Delhi High Court to dismiss Bayer plea
- Delhi High Court okays ADF
- CJI says no, Delhi High Court differs
- Bayer continues patent linkage battle in Delhi High Court
- Delhi High Court snubs NCPCR; NDTV to continue broadcast of controversial show
Other News
- Economic Times: Indian law firms shying away from best friend relationships?
- Cash at Door scam: With CJI’s approval, CBI begins probe
- Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme Regulations, 2010 changes modus operandi for Indian lawyers: BCI Chairman assures immediate action
- Women get equal rights in guardianship and adoption
- SRGR Law Offices Senior Associate writes a book on the "Valuation of Intellectual Property Rights"
- OMM hires Pooja Sinha from Linklaters to strengthen its India practice
- Will the SC rectify its mistake? CBI convinces apex court to reopen Bhopal case
Kartikeya Tanna
![]()
![]()
Aug 31, 2010 | Kartikeya Tanna analyses how the law dealt with the Union Carbide Gas Slaughter in this second part of the two part series on the world's worst industrial disasters. comments (1)










Be the first to post a comment