Madras High Court
Madras High Court

Nine judges of Madras High Court made permanent [Read Notification]

Bar & Bench

The Central Government has cleared the appointment of nine additional judges of the Madras High Court as permanent judges.

A notification to this effect was issued on Friday by the Central Government. The judges who have now been made permanent judges of the Madras High Court are:

  • PT Asha

  • M Nirmal Kumar

  • Subramonium Prasad

  • N Anand Venkatesh

  • GK llanthiraiyan

  • Krishnan Ramasamy

  • C Saravanan

  • B Pugalendhi

  • Senthilkumar Ramamoorthy

Seven of these judges, Justices PT Asha, M Nirmal Kumar, Subramonium Prasad, N Anand Venkatesh, GK Ilanthiraiyan, Krishnan Ramaswamy and C Saravanan were appointed as additional judges in June 2018.

Justice Pugalendhi was appointed as an additional judge for a two year term in November 2018. Justice Ramamoorthy, a former partner at Dua Associates, was so appointed in February 2019.

The proposal to make these judges permanent judges of the Madras High Court was made by the Supreme Court Collegium last month.

Interestingly, the notification comes on the same day that Justice Subramonium Prasad took charge as a judge of the Delhi High Court, following his recent transfer from the Madras High Court while still an additional judge. The notification clearing his proposed transfer to the Delhi High Court was issued earlier this month.

[Read the Notification]

Orders of appointment of Kumari Justice P.T. Asha and 08 others Additional Judges to be Judges of the Madras HC (13.03.2020).pdf
Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news