Agami Prize for innovations in law and justice is back with its second edition

The Agami Prize, a biennial prize awarded for innovations in law and justice, is accepting applications for its second edition till July 31.
Agami Prize 2020
Agami Prize 2020

The Agami Prize, a biennial initiative that seeks to identify and incubate innovations in law and justice, is back with its second edition.

The initiative is partnered by individuals and institutions in social innovation, business, philanthropy, and policy. This year's Agami Prize is being awarded in partnership with NITI Aayog, Observer Research Foundation (ORF), and Dasra.

The Agami Prize seeks to identify and support ideas in three categories - Industry, Citizenship, and Idea.

The Industry Prize is awarded to a proven idea that catalyzes evolution in the legal industry.

The Citizenship Prize, awarded this year in honour of the late Professor (Dr) Shamnad Basheer (IDIA and SpicyIP Founder), aims at identifying and awarding an initiative that empowers citizens to access justice.

The Idea Prize is awarded to an early-stage idea that serves justice either through evolution of the legal industry or in how it empowers citizens to access justice.

The Annual Agami Summit will also showcase leading innovation by state organisations such as courts, prisons, police, and legal services authorities, and is inviting applications for this segment. The segment is a part of the Agami Prize. State initiatives, however, are not eligible for grants under the Prize, Agami's press release states.

Details of the Prize

● INR 10 Lakh to the winner under the Industry Prize category

● INR 10 Lakh to one winner under the Shamnad Basheer Citizenship Prize category

● Up to INR 5 Lakh each to two Idea Prize winners

● Impact meeting with CEO, NITI Aayog

● Showcase at the Dasra Philanthropy Week 2021

● Access to invite-only conversations at the Raisina Dialogue 2021, hosted by ORF and the MEA

Applications for the prize are now open and must be submitted before July 31, 2020. To apply, follow this link.

The first edition of the Agami Prize, held in 2018, saw applications from around 160 innovators. The Industry Prize was awarded to Provakil, the Citizenship Prize to Indian Kanoon, while the Citizenship Prize went to Impulse NGO Network and Civis, jointly.

For more information about the Agami Prize refer to the press release:

Related Stories

No stories found.
Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news