Allahabad High Court
Allahabad High Court

Collegium recommends making 28 Additional Judges of Allahabad HC as Permanent Judges

All 28 judges were elevated as to the Allahabad High Court Bench in November 2018 as Additional Judges.

Bar & Bench

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended that 28 additional judges of the Allahabad High Court be made permanent judges.

A Collegium statement to this effect was issued today. The Judges recommended for being appointed as permanent judges of the Allahabad High Court are:

  • Justice Prakash Padia,

  • Justice Alok Mathur,

  • Justice Pankaj Bhatia,

  • Justice Saurabh Lavania,

  • Justice Vivek Varma,

  • Justice Sanjay Kumar Singh,

  • Justice Piyush Agrawal

  • Justice Saurabh Shyam Shamshery,

  • Justice Jaspreet Singh,

  • Justice Rajeev Singh,

  • Justice Manju Rani Chauhan,

  • Justice Karunesh Singh Pawar,

  • Dr. Justice Yogendra Kumar Srivastava,

  • Justice Manish Mathur,

  • Justice Rohit Ranjan Agarwal,

  • Justice Ram Krishna Gautam,

  • Justice Umesh Kumar,

  • Justice Pradeep Kumar Srivastava,

  • Justice Anil Kumar-IX,

  • Justice Rajendra Kumar-IV,

  • Justice Mohd. Faiz Alam Khan,

  • Justice Vikas Kunvar Srivastav,

  • Justice Virendra Kumar Srivastava,

  • Justice Suresh Kumar Gupta,

  • Justice Sushri Ghandikota

  • Justice Narendra Kumar Johari,

  • Justice Raj Beer Singh,

  • Justice Ajit Singh.

All 28 judges were elevated as to the Allahabad High Court Bench in November 2018 as additional judges.

Shortly after their appointment was cleared, a petition was moved in the Supreme Court alleging corruption on the part of one of the judges, Justice RK Gautam, from when he was District Judge in Meerut in 2015-16. However, in July 2019, the Supreme Court dismissed the plea.

Read the Collegium Statement issued today:

Collegium Statement - Appoint of 28 Permanant Judges for Allahabad HC - August 24.pdf
Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news