Justice PN Bhagwati Award conferred upon Justice Gita Mittal

Justice PN Bhagwati Award conferred upon Justice Gita Mittal

Bar & Bench

Justice PN Bhagwati Award was conferred upon Chief Justice of the High Court of Jammu & Kashmir, Justice Gita Mittal. The award was given at the Capital Foundation National Awards by Governor of Andhra Pradesh BB Harichandan and, Former Judge, Supreme Court, Justice AK Patnaik in New Delhi.

The award was conferred in recognition of her judicial work towards access to justice and her judicial innovation for designing the Vulnerable Witness Deposition Complex.

Earlier, in 2018, Justice Gita Mittal was conferred with the Nari Shakti Puruskar, India’s highest civilian honour for women by President of India, Ram Nath Kovind.

The Chairman’s Award was conferred upon retired Supreme Court judge, Justice AK Patnaik by the Governor of Andhra Pradesh.

The Justice VR Krishna Iyer Award was conferred upon Justice MM Kumar, President, National Company Law Tribunal. Justice PP Bhat, Chairman, Income Tax Appellate Tribunal and Justice Jawad Rahim, Member, National Green Tribunal were awarded the Capital Foundation Award.

In the past, the Capital Foundation National Award has been conferred upon luminaries like Soli Sorabjee, Arun Jaitley, Dr. Ashok Desai, Arvind P Datar, Justice DK Jain, Ram Jethmalani, Fali S Nariman, and KK Venugopal.

Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news