The Calcutta High Court
The Calcutta High Court

Three Judicial Officers appointed Additional Judges of Calcutta HC [Read Notification]

Meera Emmanuel

The Central Government has signed off on the appointment of three judicial officers as additional judges of the Calcutta High Court.

A notification issued today intimates the appointment of Bibek Chaudhari, Madhumati Mitra, and Subhasis Dasgupta as Additional Judges of the Calcutta High Court, in the order of their seniority.

Bibek Chaudhuri and Subhasis Dasgupta have been appointed for two year period starting from the date on which they assume office. However, the tenure of Madhumati Mitra would run from the date of assuming office till May 30, 2020.

All three names were recommended by the Supreme Court Collegium by a resolution passed last month, pursuant to the Calcutta High Court Collegium’s recommendation made in November 2017.

Along with their names, the Supreme Court Collegium had also recommended the name of advocate Sandipan Ganguly. However, today’s notification is silent as regards the proposed elevation of advocate Ganguly.

Read the notification:

Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news