Calcutta High Court
Calcutta High Court

Three Judges of Calcutta High Court made permanent [Read Notifications]

Bar & Bench

The Central Government has cleared a recent Collegium proposal to make three additional judges of the Calcutta High Court permanent judges.

As per a notification issued on Friday, the Justices Shampa Sarkar, Ravi Krishan Kapur and Arindam Mukherjee have been made permanent judges of the High Court.

The three judges were elevated as additional judges on March 12, 2018. The Supreme Court Collegium proposed that they be made permanent judges on January 15 this year.

At the time, the Collegium had also proposed that the term of another additional judge, Justice Protik Prakash Banerjee, be extended for another two-year term. However, there is no word yet on the Centre's decision on this proposal.

[Read the notification dated Feb 7]

Orders of appointment Smt. Justice Shampa Sarkar +2 Additional Judges of the Calcutta HC to be Judges of the CHC(07.02.2020).pdf
Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news