Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news
NUSRL, Ranchi winners of 24th MC Chagla Moot Court Competition, 2017
Apprentice Lawyer

NUSRL, Ranchi winners of 24th MC Chagla Moot Court Competition, 2017

Meera Emmanuel

The winners of the 24th MC Chagla Moot Court Competition, held at Government Law College, (GLC) Mumbai from 23rd to 24th September, 2017 have been declared.

National University of Study and Research in Law (NUSRL), Ranchi won the competition with a team comprising Suraj Kumar, Payal Mishra and Dhruvi Mehrotra.

West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WB NUJS), Kolkata emerged as runners up, with a team comprising Adya Jha, Tejas Popat, Jasel Mundhra and Md Faizan Jawed.

The team from Symbiosis Law School, Pune took home the best memorial award as well as the Best Speaker award.

Jasel Mundhra from NUJS was adjudged the Best Researcher.

The national level moot court competition, instituted in the memory of former diplomat, Cabinet Minister and Chief Justice of Bombay High Court, Late Mr. MC Chagla, is hosted every year by GLC Mumbai in association with MC Chagla Memorial Trust. The moot is based purely on Constitutional Law and 16 teams qualify for the speaking rounds based on their memorial submission.

The Final Round was presided over by Hon’ble Mr. Justice B.R. Gavai, Hon’ble Mr. Justice M.S. Sonak and Hon’ble Justice Smt. B.H. Dangre.of the Bombay High Court.