Karnataka HC
Karnataka HC

Centre notifies appointment of five Additional Judges for Karnataka High Court [Read Notification]

Rintu Mariam Biju

The Central government has notified the appointment of five judicial officers as Additional Judges of the Karnataka High Court.

The five officers, appointed for a two year period as Additionla Judges of the High Court, are:

  • Shivashankar Amarannavar

  • Makkimane Ganeshaiah Uma

  • Vedavyasachar Srishananda

  • Hanchate Sanjeevkumar

  • Padmaraj Nemachandra Desai

The notification issued in this regard reads,

"In exercise of the power conferred by clause (1) of Article 224 of the Constitution of India, the President is pleased to appoint S/Shri (1) Shivashankar Amarannavar, (2) Smt. Makkimane Ganeshaiah Uma, (3) Vedavyasachar Srishananda, (4) Hanchate Sanjeevkumar, and (5) Padmaraj Nemachandra Desai, to be Additional Judges of the Karnataka High Court, in that order of seniority, for a period of two years with effect from the date they assume charge of their respective offices."

Central Government Notification

Last month, the Supreme Court Collegium had recommended the appointment of these officers as Additional Judges of the Karnataka High Court.

With these appointments, currently the Karnataka High Court has a working strength of 47 judges (28 permanent and 19 additional judges), as against a sanctioned strength of 62 judges.

[Read notification here]

5 add Judges to Karnataka HC.pdf
Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news