Nine Additional Judges of the Allahabad High Court made permanent [Read notification]

Varun Chirumamilla

Nine Additional Judges of the Allahabad High Court, have been made permanent Judges, according to a Government of India notification.

Justices Rajul Bhargava, Siddhartha Varma, Sangeeta Chandra, Daya Shankar Tripathi, Shailendra Kumar Agrawal, Sanjay Harkauli, Krishna Pratap Singh, Rekha Dikshit and Satya Narain Agnihotri received the Presidential nod  today.

At present, the Allahabad High Court has 104 judges as against a sanctioned strength of 160.

Earlier this month, the Central government had appointed three new judges to Calcutta High Court besides signing off on the recommendation to make 41 additional judges across five High Courts, permanent. These developments come amidst cries of burgeoning vacancies in various High Courts across the country.

Read the notification

Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news