Karnataka High Court
Karnataka High Court

Supreme Court Collegium recommends that five Additional Judges of Karnataka HC be made Permanent

Rintu Mariam Biju

Following a meeting held on Wednesday, the Supreme Court Collegium has approved the proposal make five Additional Judges of Karnataka High Court as permanent judges.

The following judges had been recommended for being appointed permanent judges of the Karnataka High Court:

  • Justice Mohammad Nawaz

  • Justice HT Gowda Narendra Prasad

  • Justice Ashok G Nijagannavar

  • Justice Hethur P Sandesh

  • Justice Krishnan Natarajan

Justice Nawaz and Prasad were elevated as additional judges to the Karnataka High Court in June 2018.

Justices Sandesh and Natarajan were elevated to the Karnataka Judiciary in November, 2018.

Currently the Karnataka High Court has a working strength of 48 judges (24 permanent and 24 additional judges), as against a sanctioned strength of 62 judges.

[Read the Statement]

SC Collegium recommendation.pdf
Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news