Saumya Singh from Rajasthan Tops CLAT 2019

Saumya Singh from Rajasthan Tops CLAT 2019

 Saumya Singh from Rajasthan has emerged as the topper of this  year’s Common Law Admission Test (CLAT 2019) with a score of 177.25 out of 200.

Singh obtained the highest score out of  56,247 candidates who appeared to write CLAT 2019 for admission to the 5 year BA LLB (Hons) programme at National Law Universities (NLUs) across the country.

He had topped this year’s All India Law Entrance Test (AILET 2019) conducted for admission to National Law University, Delhi as well.

The top ten rank holders for this years exam have obtained scores ranging between 177 and 172 out of a possible 200 marks.

After Singh, Harsh Tomar from Madhya Pradesh follows close behind with a CLAT score of 176.75. The third rank holder Anurag Tiwari, also from Madhya Pradesh, has scored 175 marks.

The other rank holders following in the top ten list (in ascending order) are Merchant Hrithik RajivMouli Kaushal Jain, Yash KawadiaSidhant Arya, Shubh Mittal, Eashaan Agrawal and Dhruv Jain.

Madhya Pradesh dominates in the top ten rank holders list, with a total of four students from the state featuring as the second, third, fifth and seventh rank holders in the exam. Three rank holders, including Singh, hail from Rajasthan. This apart, there is one top ten rank holder each from Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan.

The CLAT 2019 results were released yesterday at NLSIU, Bangalore by Justice Kalpesh Satyendra Jhaveri, Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court and Justice AS Oka, Chief Justice of the Karnataka High Court.

CLAT 2019 was conducted for admission to 21 National Law Universities all over India for admission to the UG and PG Programmes. This year the permanent CLAT Secretariat was established at National Law School of India University (NLSIU), Bangalore. The Consortium of NLUs decided to conduct the Test offline this year, in view of technical glitches that marred the conduct of previous editions. 

The Executive Committee of the Consortium of NLUs consists of Prof Faizan Mustafa,  Vice-Chancellor, NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad as President;  Prof V Vijayakumar, Vice-Chancellor, NLIU, Bhopal as Vice-President; Prof R Venkata Rao, Vice-Chancellor, NLSIU, Founder President and Treasurer; Prof Paramjit S Jaswal, Vice-Chancellor, RGNUL, Patiala and Prof Srikrishna Deva Rao, who is the CLAT-2019 Convenor and Vice-Chancellor of the National Law University Odisha (NLUO), Cuttack.

The test was conducted on May 26, 2019 at 84 centres all over India. 

The list of the top ten rank holders of CLAT 2019 is for the BA LLB programme provided below:

Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news