Central government clears appointment of 11 additional judges of Punjab and Haryana High Court as permanent judges

The Supreme Court collegium had recommended the move earlier this month.
Punjab and Haryana High Court
Punjab and Haryana High Court

The Central government on Wednesday cleared the appointment of eleven additional judges of the Punjab and Haryana High Court as permanent judges.

Union Minister of State with independent charge of the Law and Justice Ministry, Arjun Ram Meghwal shared this development through social media platform, X (Twitter).

The following are the additional judges who have been made permanent:

1. Justice Nidhi Gupta

2. Justice Sanjay Vashisth

3. Justice Tribhuvan Dahiya

4. Justice Namit Kumar

5. Justice Harkesh Manuja

6. Justice Aman Chaudhary

7. Justice Naresh Singh @ Naresh Singh Shekhawat

8. Justice Harsh Bunger

9. Justice Jagmohan Bansal

10. Justice Deepak Manchanda

11. Justice Alok Jain @ Alok Kumar Jain

The Supreme Court Collegium had recommended that the above eleven judges be made permanent judges of the High Court on September 14.

All eleven judges were appointed as additional judges on August 16 last year.

As on September 1, the Punjab and Haryana High Court is functioning at a strength of 58 judges as against its sanctioned strength of 85 judges.

[Read Notification]

Punjab and Haryana High Court.pdf
Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news