Karnataka High Court
Karnataka High Court

Five additional Judges of Karnataka High Court made permanent [Read Notification]

Bar & Bench

The Central Government has approved a recent Collegium proposal to make five additional judges of the Karnataka High Court permanent judges.

As per the notification dated February 21, the four judges made permanent are:

  • Justice Mohammad Nawaz

  • Justice HT Gowda Narendra Prasad

  • Justice Ashok G Nijagannavar

  • Justice Hethur P Sandesh

  • Justice Krishnan Natarajan

In exercise of the power conferred by clause (I) of Article 217 of the Constitution of India, the President is pleased to appoint S/Shri Justices (i) Mohammad Nawaz, (ii) Harekoppa Thimmanna Gowda Narendra Prasad, (iii) Ashok Golappa Nijagannavar,(iv) Hethur Puttaswamygowda Sandesh, and (v) Krishnan Natarajan, Additional Judges of the Karnataka High Court, to be Judges of the Karnataka High Court with effect from the date they assume charge of their respective offices.

Central Government Notification

The notification has been approved pursuant to a Supreme Court Collegium proposal issued earlier this month.

Currently the Karnataka High Court has a working strength of 48 judges (now, 29 permanent and 19 additional judges), as against a sanctioned strength of 62 judges.

[Read the Notification]

Orders of appointment of Shri Justice Mohammad Nawaz and 4 other Addl Judges to Permanent Judges in Karnataka HC(21.02.2020).pdf
Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news