In a first, nine new Supreme Court judges to take oath of office in one go tomorrow

The oath taking ceremony will be telecast live on DD News and DD India and the webcast of the ceremony will be available on Supreme Court website.
Supreme Court
Supreme Court

The nine newly appointed judges of the Supreme Court will assume office on Tuesday, August 31 with Chief Justice of India (CJI) NV Ramana administering them the oath of office at 10.30 AM.

In a departure from the usual practice of holding the ceremony in CJI's courtroom, tomorrow's ceremony will be held in the new auditorium of the Supreme Court in the additional building complex near the Pragati Maidan metro station.

This is to ensure adherence to COVID protocol.

According to a press release issued by the top court, this will be the first time in the 70-year history of the Court that nine new judges will take oath in one go.

The nine judges are Justices Abhay Shreeniwas Oka, Vikram Nath, Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari, Hima Kohli, BV Nagarathna, CT Ravikumar, MM Sundresh, Bela Trivedi and Senior Advocate PS Narsimha.

Their names were recommended by the Supreme Court collegium on August 17 as judges of the top court, and were subsequently approved by the Central government on August 26.

The oath taking ceremony will be telecast live on DD News and DD India. The live telecast will also be available on the official web portal of the Supreme Court and here.

[Read Press Release]

Press Release.pdf
Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news