Rajasthan High Court
Rajasthan High Court

No jurisdiction to interfere with Speaker’s order on BSP MLAs, disqualification petition to be decided in three months: Rajasthan HC

The Court held that no exceptional circumstances exist in the present case to warrant its interference in the Speaker's order dated September 18, 2019.

The Rajasthan High Court today held that the State Assembly Speaker’s order allowing the merger of six MLAs of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) with the Congress was an administrative order, and consequently, the courts have no jurisdiction to interfere with the same (Bahujan Samaj Party v. Hon'ble Speaker, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly).

In a related matter, the High Court directed the Speaker to decide on the disqualification petition filed by one of the MLAs within three months.

Loading content, please wait...

Related Stories

No stories found.
Bar and Bench - Indian Legal news